Published on

Manitoba’s new government

Manitoba Premier Wab Kinew
  Gelynn dela Cruz Malaya Marcelino
Jelynn Dela Cruz
MLA for Radisson
Malaya Marcelino
MLA for Notre Dame

With the election of the Wab Kinew’s majority NDP government in Manitoba on October 3, the legislature once again has two seats held by Filipino Canadians – but this time, there is a new face.

Malaya Marcelino (NDP) easily held the Notre Dame constituency with 75 per cent of the votes cast, while Jelynn Dela Cruz won her place in the legislature for the NDP, defeating incumbent cabinet minister James Teitsma in the riding of Radisson with 52 per cent of the vote.

Jon Reyes, Minister of Labour and Immigration, narrowly lost his seat to David Pankratz of the NDP by only 115 votes.

Manitoba premier designate Wab Kinew’s new cabinet will be announced and sworn in on Wednesday, October 18 at 10:00 a.m. at the Leaf in Winnipeg’s Assiniboine Park. The ceremony, conducted by Lieutenant-Governor Anita Neville, will honour the seven Indigenous nations in Manitoba.

Kinew, 41, is the first-ever First Nations premier of a Canadian province.