Published on

Work begins for Immigration Advisory Council

manitoba legislativeTwenty Manitobans have been appointed to a new advisory council on immigration to recommend improvements to current immigration policies and programs, Advanced Education, Skills and Immigration Minister Jon Reyes and Immigration Advisory Council co-chair Lloyd Axworthy announced on March 28, 2022.

“As we recover from the pandemic, we need to encourage economic growth, invest in education, training and job creation and support investment, and immigration is one part of this bold plan,” said Reyes.

The Immigration Advisory Council, co-chaired by the minister and Lloyd Axworthy, will be reviewing the entire continuum of immigration, from promoting immigration to retaining newcomers and work will begin immediately with a final report to be provided by the end of the year, noted Reyes.

“This group is made up of individuals with expertise related to immigration services, governance, economic development, analysis, project management and community integration,” said Axworthy. “I know they will provide clear recommendations and concrete actions to the Manitoba government later this year, and I’m excited to begin this work.”

The work of the council will focus on:

  • building on promotion to attract and recruit more immigrants and business investors to the province;
  • streamlining the Manitoba Provincial Nominee Program, especially with regard to setting the right balance between the province’s regional labour market, economic development and community needs; and
  • fostering Manitoba’s settlement and integration programs and services, as well as foreign credential recognition programs, to encourage labour market attachment, improve foreign credential recognition and bolster immigrant retention.

Immigration Advisory Council members:

  • Lana Adeleye-Olusae (Winnipeg), pastor and human resource consultant, and involved with the African Communities of Manitoba and the Nigerian Association of Manitoba;
  • Andrea Aiello (Winnipeg), director of workforce development, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters, and a human resources professional;
  • Yasmin Ali (Winnipeg), founding member and board president, Canadian Muslim Women’s Institute, and a full-time community volunteer for more than 30 years;
  • Michael Benarroch (Winnipeg), president and vice-chancellor, University of Manitoba and professor of business administration, Asper School of Business;
  • Liz Choi (Winnipeg), chief executive officer of ECG Education Canada Group, a parent company of Robertson College, and chair of the board of directors, Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce;
  • Chad Friesen (Altona), president and chief executive officer, Friesens Corporation;
  • Annie Henry (Winnipeg), business development manager, Tourism Winnipeg, and member of various boards such as Enterprises Riel and Sport Tourism Canada;
  • Kerri Korabelnikov (West St. Paul), dean, School of Education, Arts and Sciences, Red River College Polytech, with extensive experience in English-language training and pathways to employment serving newcomers and immigrants;
  • Shauna Labman (Winnipeg), associate professor of human rights, Global College, University of Winnipeg, and an active member of the Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers;
  • Baerbel Langner (Winnipeg), in-house legal counsel, HyLife Foods, with more than 25 years of professional experience in the area of citizenship and immigration law;
  • Shane Li (Winnipeg), chief executive officer and president, Red Leaf Capital, and president, North Forge East – North Forge Technology Exchange;
  • Dr. Ghulam Memon (Winnipeg), a family physician practicing in Winnipeg and president, Pakistan Winnipeg Society;
  • Debasish Mukherjee (Beausejour), a small business owner in Beausejour who is active in the Indian community and is on the board of Beausejour Brokenhead Development Corporation;
  • Enver Naidoo (Brandon), executive director, Westman Immigrant Services, and co-founder, Interdisciplinary Immigration Research Network;
  • Rosanna Pancotto (Winnipeg), immigration consultant, Prairie Sky Immigration;
  • Gary Sarcida (Winnipeg), immigration lawyer, PKF Law, who currently sits on the board of the Winnipeg Art Gallery and the Manitoba Human Rights Adjudication Panel;
  • Paramjit Shahi (Winnipeg), president, Winnipeg South Community Centre, and also a business consultant and respected community leader;
  • Vicki Sinclair (Winnipeg), executive director, Manitoba Association of Newcomer Serving Organizations, an umbrella organization for settlement service providers;
  • Bramwell Strain (Winnipeg), president and chief executive officer, Business Council of Manitoba; and
  • Denys Volkov (Winnipeg); executive director, Association of Manitoba Municipalities.

Source: Manitoba Government