Published on

Philippine elections 2022

The world will be watching

Ferdinand Marcos Jr.
Leni Robredo

This is an important year for the Philippines. As Filipinos struggle to overcome the incapacitating health and economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the political climate is heating up and political candidates are now trying to convince the population that better days are just a few months ahead. On May 9, Filipinos will head to the polls to elect the successor of incumbent President Rodrigo Duterte, whose six-year term ends this year.

While the Commission on Elections (Comelec) in late December 2021 released a tentative list of political aspirants for the May election – reducing the number of presidential aspirants from 97 down to 15 – Comelec Commissioner Rowena Guanzon said the official list, minus the nuisance candidates, will be released soon, once the ballots are printed. That is expected on January 17.

Isko Moreno Domagso
Ping Lacson
Manny Pacquiao

According to various surveys, the current front runners are incumbent Vice President Leni Robredo, former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., and Manila Mayor Isko Moreno Domagoso. International boxing champ, now Senator Manny ‘Pacman’ Pacquiao, has also thrown his hat into the ring, seeking the top post of the land.

Comelec’s list of presidential aspirants

 As of December 2021, the candidates for president are (in alphabetical order):

  • Abella, Ernie (Independent)
  • Andes, Hilario (Independent)
  • Arcega, Gerald (Independent)
  • De Guzman, Leody (Partido Lakas ng Masa)
  • Domagoso, Isko Moreno (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Gonzales, Norberto (Partido Demokratiko Sosyalista ng Pilipinas)
  • Lacson, Ping (Partido Para Sa Demokratikong Reporma)
  • Lihaylihay, Danilo (Independent)
  • Mangondato, Faisal (Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi)
  • Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., Partido Federal ng Pilipinas
  • Maria Aurora Marcos, (Independent)
  • Montemayor, Jose Jr. (Democratic Party of the Philippines)
  • Niez, Edgar (Independent)
  • Pacquiao, Manny Pacman (Abag Promdi)
  • Robredo, Leni (Independent)

The vice-presidential candidates

  • Atienza, Lito (Abag Promdi)
  • Bello, Walden (Partido Lakas ng Masa)
  • David, Rizalito (Democratic Party of the Philippines)
  • Duterte, Sara (Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats)
  • Lopez, Manny (Workers and Peasants Party)
  • Ong, Doc Willie (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Pangilinan, Kiko (Liberal Party)
  • Serapio, Carlos (Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi)
  • Sotto, Vicente Tito (Nationalist People’s Coalition)

In the Philippines, the offices of the president and vice president are elected separately; consequently, voters may split their votes. The candidate with the highest number of votes wins the position. Both winners serve a six-year term.