PCCM celebrates 25 years

PCCM 25th

PCCM President Virgie Gayot (centre) flanked by guests of honour Tova and Larry Vickar (on her left) celebrate PCCM’s 25th anniversary with past PCCM presidents, representatives, and current PCCM directors. Photo by JDR Photography.

The Philippine Canadian Centre of Manitoba (PCCM) celebrated its 25th anniversary with a gala dinner and dance at the PCCM on Saturday evening, November 25, 2023.

PCCM President Virginia Gayot and the members of the PCCM board welcomed over 300 guests who praised the elegant decor of the venue. The PCCM foyer was also tastefully adorned with rows and rows of delicious food, fruits and dessert prepared by chef Gerome Labial and his capable team of Ger Salakot Restaurant.

Filipino hostages freed – Two OFWs now safe in Israel 

Filipino caregiver Jimmy Pacheco, 33, was released by Hamas militants on November 24. L-r: Migrant Workers Office Tel Aviv Labor Attaché Rodolfo Gabasan, Pacheco, and Philippine Ambassador to Israel Pedro Laylo Jr. at Shamir Medical Center in Tel Aviv. Photo from Philippine Embassy in Israel
Filipino caregiver Noralin Babadilla, 60, was released by Hamas militants on November 28. Photo from  Israel Embassy in Manila

The Israeli and Philippine governments have welcomed the release of Noralin Babadilla, the last Filipino left unaccounted for following the October 7 assault on Israel. She was among those kidnapped by Hamas in Gaza.

“The Israeli Embassy in Manila expresses great relief upon the release of Noralin ‘Nataly’ Babadilla from captivity by Hamas after 53 days,” the Israel Embassy in Manila said on Wednesday, November 29.