Published on


Philippine Open Golf Championship

Blumberg Golf Course, August 6, 2012

Report by Pepe Perez

Philip Intac
2012 Philippine Open Champ

Philip Intac topped the all-Filipino field of golfers at Blumberg Golf Course on Monday, August 6 for the 2012 Philippine Open Golf Championship. His solid ball striking and all-around control on the greens – shooting 75 – provided him with a four-stroke margin for his first Philippine Open Golf Championship in Winnipeg.

In spite of somewhat diminished participation due to its postponement from the previous Saturday’s date, 44 golfers played for trophies and spots to represent the Philippine team in the Asia Cup competition, on August 26 at the Meadows Golf Course.

Intac led this year’s team with five-time Phil. Open Champ, Abe Guanlao, Pepe Perez, Thorn Aspirin, Tony Villegas, Pat Manuel, Domeng Canog, Jun Guevara, Joseph Ramos, Raul Bulaong. Two alternates were also named: Jun Raymundo and Danny Sevilla.

Other winners in their respective divisions: Class B: Andy Tahimic; Danny Sevilla; Pete Sangalang; Joel Sangalang; Bernie Bernardo.

Class C: Alex Bacomo; Aldrin Ferrer; Fer Manalastas; Rowen de Lima; Gabby Sangalang. Class D: Teng Duarte; Eddie Exconde; Eddie Cruz; Rudy Catbagan; Rico Villarin.

Matt Ramos was the Golfer of the Day completing 18 holes with the most number of strokes.

Ruben Villa of Glen Eden Funeral Home was the major sponsor of the event, donating all the trophies for the winners. Congratulations to all.

L-r: Raul Bulaong; Joseph Ramos; Thorn Aspirin; Jun Guevara; Pat Manuel; Pepe Perez; Domeng Canog; Ruben Villa, major sponsor; Philip Intac; Danny Sevilla, Tony Villegas; Jun Raymundo and Abe Guanlao