Published on

Premier Stefanson overhauls cabinet

    jon reyes anita neville
Jon Reyes with Manitoba Lieutenant-Governor Anita Neville (right) Reyes now serves as minister of the newly established Department of Labour and Immigration

Four new ministers will lead the renewal of Premier Heather Stefanson’s cabinet as she completes the third of four steps to refresh executive council to ensure the Manitoba government is better able to get things done quickly for the benefit of all Manitobans.

On January 30, the overhaul of executive council puts Stefanson’s stamp on her team while also marking a significant departure from previous cabinets over the past decade.

“While retaining the experience of ministers including Kelvin Goertzen, Rochelle Squires, Jeff Wharton, Cliff Cullen, I am excited to welcome fresh new energy and ideas from James Teitsma, Janice Morley-Lecomte, Kevin Klein and Manitoba’s first-ever Muslim MLA, Obby Khan,” said Stefanson.

Janice Morley-Lecomte (Seine River) joins cabinet as minister of mental health and community wellness. James Teitsma (Radisson) becomes minister of the reframed Department of Consumer Protection and Government Services. Ibrahim (Obby) Khan (Fort Whyte) becomes minister of sport, culture and heritage. Kevin Klein (Kirkfield Park) will serve as minister of the refreshed Department of Environment and Climate Change.

The new ministers were sworn in earlier today in an historic ceremony at the Legislative Building, as the premier joined Lt.-Gov. Anita Neville and Kathryn Gerrard, clerk of the executive council.

Other changes to executive council include:

  • Cliff Cullen continues as deputy premier and assumes the role of minister of finance.
  • Jeff Wharton becomes minister of economic development, investment and trade.
  • Jon Reyes will serve as minister of the newly established Department of Labour and Immigration.
  • Eileen Clarke becomes minister of Indigenous reconciliation and northern relations.
  • Sarah Guillemard will serve as minister of the reframed Department of Advanced Education and Training; and
  • Andrew Smith moves to the Department of Municipal Relations and retains responsibility for Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Corporation.

Additionally, Josh Guenter (Borderland) will serve as legislative assistant to finance to play an integral role in the government’s upcoming pre-budget consultation process, Stefanson noted.

The fourth and final step of Manitoba government renewal, a shuffle of deputy ministers, will occur in due course, Stefanson added.

Source: Manitoba Government